Temple welcome gate

Temple Engineering students and faculty again posted strong showings both on-campus and off, winning prestigious research awards, fellowships, scholarships and more.

Mitchell Young named Goldwater Scholar

The recognition was recently referred to as "the Rhodes Scholarship of STEM," by Honors Program Senior Director Ruth Ost. It is awarded to students in science, technology, engineering and math fields based on exemplary academic achievement.

The dual mechanical engineering and physics major is Temple's second consecutive Goldwater Scholar, following Marcus Forst who earned the recognition in 2018-19. Check back for more on Mitchell's achievement and the story behind it.

Winners announced for college's largest-ever Senior Design competition

Three winners and two runner-up teams were chosen from nine semi-finalists among the nearly 60 teams of student engineers.

First Prize
Transcutaneous Hemoglobinometer
Shreyas Chandragiri, Paul Gehret, Kyle Jezler, Seth McBride
Faculty Advisor - Prof. Chetan Patil

Second Prize
Bioinspired Needles for Soft Tissue Biopsy
Alexandra Ciuciu, Neha Devaravar, Rafael Doracio, Kian Kianzad
Faculty Advisor - Prof. Chai Hutapea

Third Prize
Variable Damping for Formula SAE Racecar
Stephen Doroba, Owen Pearl, Mike Salzarulo, Sahil Shaikh, Aaron Snyder
Faculty Advisor - Prof. Dick Cohen

Runners Up
Rapid POC Ovarian Cancer HE4 Biomarker Urine Test
Emily Kight
Faculty Advisor - Prof. Bojana Gligorijevic

NeckTech MIDI Guitar System
Zachary Green, Sarah Haviland, Chamroeun Meth, William Purcell
Faculty Advisor - Prof. Iyad Obeid

Bioengineering student Paul Gehret takes Be Your Own Boss Bowl Undergraduate Track honors

Gehret joined a growing list of strong showings by engineering students at the Fox School of Business entrepreneurship event, earning $20,000. The HemaSense project by Shreyas Chandragiri and Kyle Jezler (BioE) took second place in the undergraduate track. Fellow engineering student Rahul Ramesh (BioE) was part of a team placing third in the undergraduate track. Kenneth Carter (ENG, 12) also took 3rd place in the upper track.

Fauzia Ahmad wins IEEE Carlton Award for Excellence in Technical Communications

Ahmad, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was honored for her paper, Multipath Exploitation in Through-the-Wall Radar Imaging Using Sparse Reconstruction, published in IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems.

Senior Emma Krampe (CE) honored at Diamond Awards

Krampe, President of Temple's chapter of Engineers Without Borders, received the highest honor presented to undergraduate students on behalf of the Office of Student Affairs. The awards celebrate those who demonstrate excellence in leadership, academic performance, service to Temple and dedication to the community. Honorees included leaders of on-campus organizations as well as national honor societies and service projects.

Two students selected for Diamond Research Scholars Program

Sophomore Nina Mucciolo will join fellow bioengineering major Niko Di Caprio to engage in focused, mentored research as part of the program. They represent two out of the 23 total students selected for the program this summer spanning across five colleges at Temple. 

DiCaprio will continue with "Modulation of Covalently Crosslinked 3D Collagen Hydrogels Regulate Metabolic and Fibrotic Gene Expression" working with Dr. Evangelia Bellas, and Mucciolo will continue in Dr. Chetan Patil's lab working on "Validation for Calibration of a Low-Cost Mobile-Phone Based TcB."

Michelle Joyce (BE) wins Livingstone Prize for Sustainability

Joyce was recognized for her STEM topics paper, "Reducing Gait Compensation and Osteoarthritis in Unilateral Amputees Through Prosthesis Design." Michelle is studying biomechanics in the engineering program, and has personal knowledge of gait nuances from high school and college athletic participation, most recently as a member of Temple's cross-country team.

Two students selected for NSF GRFP Program

Two Temple Engineering students, Emily Kight (BioE) Sanjana Subramaniam (BioE), were recently selected for the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP), while another student, Owen Pearl (ME), earned honorable mention.

Billed as the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind, the GRFP has a long history of selecting recipients who become lifelong leaders that contribute significantly to both scientific innovation and teaching. Past fellows include numerous Nobel Prize winners; former U.S. Secretary of Energy, Steven Chu; and Google founder, Sergey Brin.